Kolbe Award

Our Minister Provincial, the Very Reverend Fr. James McCurry, OFM Conv., a Kolbean Scholar and Mariolgist was the recipient of the 2015 Kolbe Award, given on the Feast Day of St. Maximilian Kolbe – August 14th, presented at the National Shrine of St. Maximilian Kolbe – Marytown.

St. Maximilian Kolbe Award Ceremony (3)

Our Lady of the Angels Province friar, Br. Paschal Kolodziej, OFM Conv (Guardian and St. Bonaventure Postulancy Director), St. Bonaventure Province friar, Fr. John Grigus, OFM Conv. (Presenter), the Very Reverend Fr. Michael Zielk, OFM Conv. (St. Bonaventure Provincial Minister) and Our Lady of the Angels Province friar, Fr. Jobe, Abbass, OFM Conv. pictured with Fr. James and the 2015 citation.


Blessed Teresa of Calcutta, MC (Mother Teresa) was one of the four first recipients of the Kolbe Award, presented to her by Fr. James.


Fr. James is pictured here at the October 10, 1982 canonization of St. Maximilian Kolbe by Saint Pope John Paul II. Friar Maksymilian Maria Kolbe, O.F.M. Conv. (St. Maximilian Kolbe) was also a Conventual Franciscan, as are we friars of the Our Lady of the Angels Province.

Maximilian Kolbe Award Citation